[Ndss-tot-award] Voting results

Paul Syverson paul.syverson at nrl.navy.mil
Wed Jan 23 06:34:44 PST 2019

Hi Trent et al.,

If I recall discussion about this initial reward, it was about picking
ToT papers for the range 1995-2009, with an assumption that in
subsequent years the ToT committee would be picking 0-2 papers from
the proceedings of the year ten years prior to the current year
(e.g. in 2020 select from 2010 proceedings). The default expectation
is to pick 1 each year, though with flexibility.

We had discussed picking 1-2 papers for each year 1995-2009. I could
see that would perhaps be excessive. But narrowing to just 2-3 papers
for the entire 14 years seems extreme the other way.
As it is we have (in the order of vote results below) papers from
1996, 2003, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2004.
That seems like an OK spread for this period. Why not select all of them?

Better still, we should consider this as covering the first decade
1995-2005---six test of time papers for a decade seems reasonable to me.
Then the committee next year can do 2005-2010, then
start with just the precise tenth previous year in 2021.
That can be a separate consideration, but whether we consider
the range to be 1995-2009 or 1995-2009, I would strongly prefer
to pick all six of the papers with 5 or more points.


On Wed, Jan 23, 2019 at 02:09:14PM +0000, Jaeger, Trent Ray wrote:
> Hi,
> Here are the results of the voting for the first ToT award.
> 23pts: SKEME: A Versatile Secure Key Exchange Mechanism for Internet
> 13pts: A Virtual Machine Introspection Based Architecture for Intrusion Detection
> 9pts: Client Puzzles: A Cryptographic Countermeasure Against Connection Depletion Attacks
> 6pts: A First Step Towards Automated Detection of Buffer Overrun Vulnerabilities
> 5pts: Implementing Pushback: Router-Based Defense Against DDoS Attacks
> 5pts: The Design and Implementation of Datagram TLS
> Others less than 5pts.
> Shall we pick the top two or three?
> Regards,
> Trent.
> ----------------------------------------------
> Trent Jaeger
> Professor, CSE Department
> Pennsylvania State University
> W359 Westgate Bldg, University Park, PA 16802
> Email: tjaeger at cse.psu.edu<mailto:tjaeger at cse.psu.edu>
> Ph: (814) 865-1042, Fax: (814) 865-3176
> URL: http://www.trentjaeger.com

> -- 
> Ndss-tot-award mailing list
> Ndss-tot-award at elists.isoc.org
> https://elists.isoc.org/mailman/listinfo/ndss-tot-award

More information about the Ndss-tot-award mailing list